How to Adjust to Daylight Saving Time

It’s that time of year again. It case you missed it, you are an hour behind. Daylight saving time began this morning at 2am, which, for me, is the first sign that summer is finally on its way! Do you know why we do this every year?

Here are some fun facts about daylight saving time:

  • It was first suggested by Benjamin Franklin in 1784.
  • It was originally put into law in 1918, but is now optional for the States to decide whether they will use it or not.
  • Hawaii and Arizona don’t practice daylight saving time.
  • In Western Europe, it’s called Summer Time, and it starts the last week in March and ends the last week in October (different than the U.S.).
  • Daylight savings in the Southern Hemisphere is opposite of the Northern Hemisphere. It begins between Sept.-Nov. and ends between March-April.

I personally enjoy the longer days and extra sunlight. Why waste precious sunlight when you are sleeping? However, I’m not a big fan of losing an hour; it always takes a few days for my biological clock to adjust.

A few tips for getting used to the time change:

  1. Make sure all of your clocks have been changed
  2. Don’t think in terms of the previous time.
  3. Try to get ready for bed earlier the first few nights, so it’s easier to fall asleep at your new bed time.
  4. Take advantage of the extra sunlight by taking an evening walk or eating dinner outside (weather permitting of course).
  5. Conserve energy. Open up the curtains and shades so you don’t need to turn lights on until later.

How do you cope with losing an hour?

To a happy, healthy, productive life!

Photo Credit: Adil Harchaoui

7 Comments

Filed under Time Management/ Organization

7 responses to “How to Adjust to Daylight Saving Time

  1. Awesome information, many thanks to the article writer. It’s understandable to me now, the effectiveness and importance is mind-boggling. Thank you once again and good luck!

  2. Michelle.

    I tried to use your previous tips to manage the time change; I’ve since your blog “5 ways to add 10 extra minutes”, tried to prepare the day before for the next morning. By the way, why haven’t I been doing this before?! It works. Saturday night I made sure my coffee was ready to go, oats measured and berries washed for breakfast. Made it easier to wake up 🙂

    Thank you for the wonderful blogging!

    –Jaana Eubanks

  3. Michelle

    I usually don’t have a problem with Daylight Savings, but for some reason, waking up this morning was so hard to do. I usually try to ignore the fact that we just had an hour time change and get to bed a little earlier like you said, but I still had trouble. Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

    P.S. I like your new signature…

    Thanks,
    Eric

  4. ireneyachan

    Great post, Michelle! Day light saving time always throw me off even though it’s just an hour. I set all of my clocks Saturday night so when I wake up on Sunday, I won’t have to worry about it and my schedule is adjusted right away.

Leave a Reply

