Faking Confidence


I may not know what I want to be when I grow up, but I know who I want to be. I see myself in the future as a confident businesswoman who can walk into a conference room and own the audience. Someone who has a reputation for being unstoppable, always getting the job done and consistently producing remarkable results. I want to be the kind of boss who is respected, yet well liked and admired. That is who I see myself in the future, and I’m on my way toward becoming this person. As a young professional, this means becoming comfortable in my skin, knowing my value, and overcoming fear of failure. I wanted to share with you what I have learned in my own journey toward becoming a more confident woman.

True confidence radiates from the inside out. You have to have a strong sense of who you are, what you believe in, and what you want in life. This internal confidence can be the most challenging to develop and it takes the most time. There are a few things you can do in the meantime to be perceived as more confident, and as my dance instructor used to say, “sometimes you have to fake it till you make it!”

Dress the part

When you look good, you feel good. Dressing sharp adds an instant boost to the way others perceive you. When I put on my power suit, I instantly feel like that unstoppable businesswoman described above.

Speak up

If you have something to say, say it. Don’t hesitate or let others overpower you. Chances are, people really do want to hear what you have to say, but you will never know if it never leaves your lips. I hate it when I miss an opportunity to say or do something and the rest of the day, I think, “Man! I wish I would have said…”

Sit in the front

Whether it’s in the classroom or the conference room, don’t hide out in the back because it’s safe and comfortable. Sit in the front, be visible, and make yourself known.

In my next post, I’ll dive into the greater challenge: how to become more confident on the inside.

To a happy, healthy, productive life!

21 Comments

Filed under Motivation

21 responses to “Faking Confidence

  1. Pingback: 10 Self Confidence Boosters | Michelle Fox

  2. Excellent tips. I always try to dress one or two levels up at work. Also, when you sit in the front, you are more likely to ask questions and be engaged with the speaker.

  3. Great post Michelle! I think the “fake it ’till you make it” approach is fantastic! It is good practice and usually helps to fast track you where you want to go professionally. I really like the format of your blog: to the point and full of awesome information!

  4. Great stuff Michelle!

    Being confident, especially outside out comfort zones, can be difficult at times. Sometimes I find myself feeling intimidated by certain business settings, until I remind myself, that instead of being intimidated, I have to be AWARE of who I am as a person. That helps me to refocus and regain my confidence.

    –Jaana Eubanks

    • As always, Jaana, wonderful advice. Why do we let business situations intimidate us? I like your concept of awareness. Putting things in perspective can help regain confidence. Thanks for your input!
      ~Michelle

  5. lexi

    Fantastic!
    “Fake it to make it” is more profound than anyone can imagine! I have used this philosophy throughout my 42 years and it has been a priceless tool. I wish your blog had been available in my 20’s and 30’s!

  6. You’re so right, confidence is key in the business world, I think especially if you’re a woman. People I think expect women to not be as assertive, and therefore get overlooked. Even if you don’t feel it inside, you should start acting like it and eventually you will believe it and so will others. Great post.

    • Women have definitely come a long way in the business world. I love hearing about the accomplishments of confident businesswomen. It’s inspirational, and sometimes I look to them as an example of how to compose myself.
      Thanks for your input!
      -Michelle

  7. Great post, Michelle. “sometimes you have to fake it till you make it” is my favorite part.

  8. Michelle, your blog looks great! Hard to tell you’ve only been at this a few months. Keep it up! Bret

  9. Adil

    Great article. I donโ€™t agree with some points there. You are a confident person no doubt, you just need to take your experience to the next level โ€œ Leadership Level โ€œ to survive this aggressive work environment.

    Happy to see you focusing on that and work on some of your weakness.

    Love

    Adil

  10. sharonmarkovsky

    Michelle,
    Could have fooled me! You seem confident all the time. I guess it really is all about appearances…you don’t have to feel it…just look it. These are really great suggestions!
    Sharon
    http://www.sharonmarkovsky.com

  11. Great article Michelle, good points to remeber for aspiring business leaders!

Leave a Reply

