Are you off balance?

If you feel like all you ever do is work, and you never have the time to do the things you want, chances are your life is off balance. It can happen quite easily if you don’t consciously work to maintain this delicate equilibrium. Sometimes you don’t even realize it’s happening until you find yourself suffering the consequences. Here are some signs that you may be off balance:

  • You have difficulty falling asleep
  • You keep coming down with colds
  • You have a constant knot in your stomach
  • You’ve lost contact with your friends
  • You can’t remember the last time you’re whole family shared a meal
  • You spend more time in your office than your home
  • You’ve gained weight
  • You feel stressed and overwhelmed more often than you feel happy and relaxed

This concept of work/life balance is talked about a lot, and it means something different for everyone. It’s essential for your physical and mental well being to give yourself a break sometimes. I have been successful in maintaining balance in my life because I have integrated it into my daily routine. We are creatures of habit, and if you habitually incorporate the things that balance you into your schedule, you won’t neglect to do them. Here are some suggestions for making balance a habit:

Enroll in a class

Whether its a workout class, an art class, or an educational class, it’s a commitment that will be at the same time on the same day every week.

Pack a bag

This has been my secret for maintaining a consistent workout schedule. I pack my gym bag in the morning and go straight to the gym after work before I get to go home.

Create a tradition

I try to get together with my family for dinner on Sunday nights. It’s a time when everyone is off work, and we prepare and enjoy a meal together while catching up on the weeks’ happenings. It’s usually followed by a movie or a card game.

What do you do to stay balanced?

To a happy, healthy, productive life!

Photo credit

13 Comments

Filed under Balance

13 responses to “Are you off balance?

  1. Ruaan prinsloo

    Hi michelle
    I feel off balance and not quite my self.
    It all started tonight, what’s happening to me??????
    It almost feels like I almost had one to many beers, It’s the best way to describe it. I’m starting to freak out! please help!

  2. Wonderful advice! Only recently have I felt that I’ve “found my balance,” although graduate school seems to have tipped the scales a bit 🙂

  3. Adil Harchaoui

    Very Interesting topic. I personally think this is very critical, unfortunately where I work now( as you know) most of people are very dedicated and willing to work non-stop for MS. This make people who are looking to have the work-life-balance a very hard thing to do and it makes them look like underperformed.
    I hope I’m good at work-life-school-gym-balance 

    Love,

    Adil

    • Fortunately, MS has a relaxed company culture that isn’t all work and no play. You are very good at maintaining balance, although sometimes the stress follows you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
      Love,
      Michelle

  4. To stay balanced, I like to take in an occasional movie and every weekend I do something with my kids. We go to the park and play or some other fun thing. It helps “recharge” the batteries.

  5. Ugh, I’m definitely off balance. But, with a 40-50 hour a week job, 4 MBA classes and 2 puppies it’s no wonder! How do you get your life back on balance when you spend every waking moment trying to go to work or go to class or do some homework or squeeze in a 15 minute walk or a 15 minute NAP for that matter. I feel like my life will definitely become more balanced when school is done, and I guess I brought it on myself by going back to school right! What I need to do is start getting up 30 minutes early in the morning, now that it’s getting warm anyway, and jog with my dogs. That would take care of the workout for me and the walk for my dogs. Great post Michelle. On a more personal note, I love how you “sign” each blog. That is a great touch.

    • I know exactly what you mean girl! As MBA students who also juggle full time jobs, we have a lot on our plates. I am eagerly anticipating summer as well; it’s a great opportunity to recharge. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!
      -Michelle

  6. Cheng Chih Lin/Robert

    Sometimes I feel stressed and I’ll do some sports with friends like bowling. This is very useful to vent and also can hang out with them. Also I play softball every week in my country so constant exercise really works for me.

    • I agree Cheng, exercise is how I find balance as well. It’s a great way to promote both mental and physical well being. Venting to friends is also a great way to relieve stress, isn’t it? Thanks for your comment!
      -Michelle

Leave a Reply

