Get Off Your Butt and Do Something

I don’t know about you, but these drizzly Spring days take their toll my motivation. Despite the fact that I’ve got tons to do, I want nothing more than to remain in my pj’s and watch movies. It’s perfectly acceptable to have one of those lazy days every once in awhile, but when you have weeks or months of gloomy weather ahead, you cannot afford to let it get to you.

When you are feeling exceptionally sluggish, may need a little extra push to get yourself going. Sometimes all it takes is just forcing yourself to get off your butt and do something. Here are some suggestions to get you moving:

Turn off the TV

A coworker of mine recently told me if he could give one word of advice to anyone, it would be, “Turn off your TV because you never did anything to make your life better while watching it.”

Change your clothes

Getting out of your pj’s is the first step. Either put on some workout clothes or some street clothes. Once you are dressed, you have no more excuses for not leaving the house.

Put on some music

I like to put on some up-tempo music to get me going. It boosts my energy for cleaning, cooking, and exercising.

Make a commitment

Call up a friend and make a date for coffee or shopping. When someone is counting on you, there is more pressure to be productive.

What do you do to get yourself going on a lazy day?

To a happy, healthy, and productive life!

2 Comments

Filed under Motivation, Personal Productivity

2 responses to “Get Off Your Butt and Do Something

  1. Rachel Paulsen

    I am also lacking in motivation to get things done. As the end of the semester comes closer and closer I know that there are things that I need to be doing, but I am just lacking in motivation. Thanks for the great article, I will hopefully be more productive and motivated today after reading this!

Leave a Reply

