Going the Extra Mile

It was a beautiful spring day in Reno today, and on top of it, I kicked off the running season with my first 10k race! I have done a handful of 5k’s, and I moved up to an 8k last fall, but today I accomplished one of my goals by adding an extra mile and going for the 10k. I really enjoy participating in local fun runs, and we do have quite a few to choose from here in Reno. I love the energy and comradery that radiates from these runs; it’s pretty inspiring being in the midst of so many active, motivated people.

Not only is it the thrill of the race that makes these runs exciting, it’s knowing that the whole crowd has come together to support a cause. Most fun runs are organized to raise money for research, charities, and other non-profits. What better way to give back to the community, while simultaneously doing something good for your health? Not to mention the awesome T-shirt and goodie bag full of loot.

If you haven’t done one of these events, I highly suggest you give it a try. Even if you don’t consider yourself a runner, these races are usually walker friendly. The best way to set a goal for a race is to choose one you would like to do in the future, whether it’s in a month or 6 months, and register. Now you are committed. Put it on your calendar and start telling everyone about it. Once it’s out in the open that you have set this goal, you have even more motivation to follow through with it. If you don’t run much, start small. A 5k is 3.3 miles, so start jogging 1 or 2 miles without stopping and add on from there. You can count on some adrenaline and crowd energy to give you an extra push on race day.

If you do race regularly, I challenge you to set a new goal. I plan on tackling a few more 10k’s before the season is over. In the next year or two, I will work up to a half marathon. Do you have any fitness goals you are working toward?

To a happy, healthy, and productive life!

1 Comment

Filed under Health, Motivation, Personal Productivity

One response to “Going the Extra Mile

  1. terri

    Awesome!I’ve always wanted to do that!

Leave a Reply

